The Conditions, Pillars and Requirements of the Prayer – Imaam Muhammad bin ‘Abdil-Wahhaab

AUTHOR: Imaam Muhammad bin ‘Abdil-Wahhaab
TRANSLATED: Al-Ibaanah Book Publishing

About the Book:

This is a translation of the beneficial treatise of Imaam Muhammad bin ‘Abdil-Wahhaab, “Shuroot as-Salaat wa Arkaanuhaa wa Waajibaatuhaa.” [The Conditions, Pillars and Requirements of the Prayer]

In this short treatise, Imaam Muhammad bin ‘Abdil-Wahhaab, may Allaah have mercy on him, briefly outlines the nine conditions for the acceptance of one’s prayer, as well as the fourteen pillars and eight requirements of the prayer, mentioning some of their proofs and evidences from the Book and the Sunnah.

A condition is something that is required before the commencement of prayer in order for it to be valid. “The pillars are that which if one fails to perform any of them out of forgetfulness or intentionally, his prayer is rendered invalid because of his abandoning it. The requirements are that which if one fails to perform any of them intentionally, his prayer is rendered invalid due to his abandoning it, but if he leaves any of them due to forgetfulness, he is obligated to perform the (extra) prostrations for forgetfulness.”

The author also lists the conditions, obligations, requirements and nullifiers of wudoo (ablution). The translator has provided a quick reference guide as an appendix listing each of these points, as well as footnotes with hadeeth references and other comments gathered from several sources of this treatise.

Quotes from the Book:

“The things that nullify (nawaaqid) the ablution are eight: (1) Whatever comes out from the two private parts; (2) Any foul impure substance that comes out from the body; (3) Loss of consciousness (i.e. sleep/insanity); (4) Touching a woman with sexual desire; (5) Touching one’s private part with the hand, whether it is the frontal or rear (private part); (6) Eating the meat of camels; (7) Bathing a deceased person; and (8) Apostating from Islaam, may Allaah protect us from that!”

“The pillars of the prayer are fourteen: (1) Standing, if one has the ability to do so; (2) The opening Takbeer; (3) Reciting Surah Al-Faatihah; (4) Bowing; (5) Rising from Bowing; (6) Prostrating on all seven limbs; (7) Erecting oneself from it; (8) Sitting between the two prostrations; (9) Remaining tranquil (i.e. not rushing) during all of these pillars; (10) Maintaining the same sequence; (11) the Final Tashahhud; (12) Sitting for it; (13) Sending Salaat on the Prophet; and (14) the (final) two Tasleems.”

[Download the PDF Book]

%d bloggers like this: